The jŏb of Jōb

For the most part I don’t mind my day job. It wasn’t my dream to sit at a desk for most of the day but it pays the bills and most days I don’t have to take any work home. My personal life and my professional lives generally stay separate. I’ve been fortunate enough to sleep peacefully not needing to worry about work.

At the first of this year, though, things changed drastically. My employer closed my office location to consolidate with the larger one across town. It was a massive, exhausting undertaking.

On top of the much, much, much longer commute to and from the office, all of a sudden pretty much everything that could have gone wrong did go wrong. It’s sort of amusing and sort of “is this their way of showing me I’m not wanted?”

On day one in the new building, my computer monitors decided they didn’t like the move and quit working. I was also locked out (twice) because-although it had been requested-security took their sweet time activating my key card. This meant I had to walk around the outside of the building to the front door and beg to be let in. (If I didn’t have a Fitbit counting my steps, this wouldn’t have been quite as amusing.)

Inexplicably the issues kept happening: Someone stole my office chair for their own use not realizing that it wasn’t an extra. A totally different someone decided to remove the temporary dividing wall to my office. So, up until a day ago there was still a gaping hole that looked like a tornado had ripped it off. (Bizarre!)

The very worst of it came when I discovered that HR had not renewed my health insurance as of January 1st. I was in the process of trying to use said health insurance at the time. That evening I drove home wondering if they were just planning to lay me off and forgot to tell me. (So far no one has been willing to confirm or deny that theory.)

As you can imagine all this stuff is making it really difficult to do my job and to just focus on doing thing well. I’m beginning to feel like Job of the Old Testament if he had worked in an office in the 21st century.

In fact, I’ve begun to read the Book of Job as a result. The nice thing about Job is that it’s equal parts reality and a dash of “things could be much worse.” I know there are probably millions of people who would kill for a job whether or not they had a chair, a wall, or health insurance. I also know that I could have really suffered through a tornado or boils all over my body.

As a result I really hooked onto the wonderful reminder in Job Chapter 5:

As for me, I would seek God,
    and to God would I commit my cause,
who does great things and unsearchable,
    marvelous things without number:
10 he gives rain on the earth
    and sends waters on the fields;
11 he sets on high those who are lowly,
    and those who mourn are lifted to safety.

Job 5:8-11

Moral of my story: Don’t focus on the job. Focus on God. He knows what He’s doing.

(And maybe it’s time to polish up my resume?)

Jenn

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

