Just because everyone else is…

IMG_8642“Keep both heart and hand in your own possession,

till you see good reason to part with them…”

– Anne Bronte

The funny thing about walking into a store just after the New Year, is that Valentine’s Day has suddenly arrived even though it’s more than a month away. And social media lights up with posts like “Who else is going to be single on Valentine’s Day?”

At times it does seem that “everyone” has a special someone when you’re single. But I can remember my dad saying “Who’s this ‘everyone?’ If everyone was jumping off a cliff, would you go, too?” (Good point, Dad!) And, really, once you take a step back I’m not the only single person in the world (or even my circle of friends) who won’t be treated to a fancy dinner out and that heart-shaped box of chocolates. (Which is good because I am watching my waistline!)

Of course, it does feel like because “everyone” else is dating, that’s what I should be doing, too, right? Isn’t that what I’m “supposed” to do? Well, maybe not.

I think there’s a lot to be said for waiting for a good match rather than dating just because that’s what everyone does. Heartbreak can make us bitter and jaded as time goes on. I think it’s better to be selective about dating-even if that means being single for awhile. Better to be alone than to be with dozens of people with whom you don’t intend to be in a committed relationship.

What do you think?

Jenn

Leave a Reply

