To dye or not to dye: that is the question

file1591340859301

“Gray hair is a crown of splendor; it is attained by a righteous life.”  

Proverbs 16:31

This year the gray hairs decided to make themselves more visible than ever before. Usually some clever styling or just changing up my part a little bit was enough to hide them but now that was no longer an option. And people were starting to notice. (And send me Groupon e-mails for salon hair color.)

Maybe it’s denial or maybe it’s just that I’ve never given too much thought to my hair (which tends to do whatever the heck it wants, anyway) but dying my hair was just not a major interest. I can literally count the number of times I’ve done so on one hand because both were within the last 5 years.

Now that I’m getting comments, offers to pull out the most visible hairs and those forwarded Groupon e-mails, I’m more aware of the silver strands. I’m also more aware of hair color commercials. Of course, none of my friends can relate because I’m the odd one who hasn’t been coloring her hair since the teen years.

It’s a funny time in my life. I’m coming to terms with aging and the teenage rite of passage of changing one’s hair color. I have a feeling that fifteen years ago I would have had purple low lights but that wouldn’t be very professional today.  As things go I will probably be experimenting with hair color if for no other reason than to tame the silver hairs that are even more ornery than my brown locks. Feel free to pass along those coupons for Garnier hair color.

Are you a hair dye-er or do you plan on going natural through the transition into gray hair?

Jenn

Leave a Reply

