Do we really need to broadcast all our good deeds?

file0001719225336Just about every morning I tune into the Today Show to catch some news (and maybe some shopping/travel tips which I may never use). Inevitably there will be a story about an act of kindness. Often, the person who did this wonderful deed is brought on the show to talk about what happened.

While many of these stories are nice reminders that there are still good people in this world, I am a little torn about this trend of broadcasting all our good deeds to the world. This doesn’t just happen on television. It can be seen in all forms of social media and journalism as well.

I guess my main concern is the message this sends to children. One being that we all get rewarded for doing the right thing. This is not the case 90% of the time. It just isn’t realistic to expect a parade, a viral video or a TV spot every time we do something nice.

Is a good deed still worthwhile if no one notices?

Do you find yourself motivated by those “feel good” stories on TV or online?

Jenn

2 thoughts on “Do we really need to broadcast all our good deeds?

  1. Absolutely agree with you – it does distort the motivation over time I think. But I have to admit I am a sucker for that kind of story on TV and usually cry when I see them!! 🙂 😉

Leave a Reply

